Sicily: Ragusa-Ibla

Spectacular chief town of the omonimous province, Ragusa, in the area of the Hyblaean Mountains, is a corner of Sicily where time has stopped. The great architectural wonders – especially the Baroque ones – made Ragusa a UNESCO World Heritage listed site in 2002, with notable mentions of as much as 18 monuments. To enjoy the unique alleys and views of Ragusa-Ibla, I suggest to take a good walk. The city is divided into two areas: Ragusa, which was basically rebuilt from scratch after a devastating earthquake in 1963, and Ibla, the historical town that went under reconstruction because of the same event. From Ragusa, after visiting the Cathedral, you go down to S. Maria delle Scale; from there you can see Ibla, just a little below. Most of the buildings have some kind of architectural feature that is worth seeing: the majestic Dome of Saint George with its Cupola, the Circle of Conversation, the beautiful Hyblaean Gardens, the churches, all make Ragusa-Ibla an enrapturing destination. I hope you’ll have the pleasure of discovering in person Ragusa-Ibla with its surrounding area, and of sharing your emotions with other readers of this website!

Un Commento a “Sicily: Ragusa-Ibla”

  1. amedar consulting group says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content available for you? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome blog!

RSS feed for comments on this post. And trackBack URL.

Scrivi un commento